CLOSE

SIGN UP TO OUR NEWSLETTER

Sign up here to receive our updates on the fight to end modern slavery.

What would you like to receive emails about
(select at least 1 option)

Hostile Environment: The nexus between modern slavery and environmental destruction

April 20, 2021 / Media, Events The Freedom Fund / @freedom_fund

Modern slavery and environmental destruction are concurrent crises – but what if they are more interrelated than we ever imagined?

This session is the first in a series curated by the Freedom Fund exploring the nexus between modern day slavery and environmental destruction. From the devastating deforestation of the Amazon, the mining industry’s decimation of protected areas in the Congo to the fishing sector in South-East Asia, slavery is inextricably interwoven with some of the worst environmental destruction on the planet. Yet, this connection remains one of the most under-researched topics.

Join the Freedom Fund, Environmental Funders Network and Ariadne Network for a discussion exploring how modern day slavery and environmental destruction weave together, and how by better understanding the interlinkages, we have a possible route to protecting both the most vulnerable people in the world, and some of the world’s most vulnerable ecosystems.

Watch the recording here.

Keynote:

  • Kevin Bales, CMG – Research Director of the Rights Lab and Professor of Contemporary Slavery, University of Nottingham

Speakers:

  • Maggie Gardner – Managing Director, Development and Partnerships, The Freedom Fund
  • Leonardo Sakamoto – Investigative journalist and founder of Repórter Brazil

Moderator:

  • Julie Broome – Director, Ariadne Network

Tuesday 20th April 2021
2:00 pm – 3:15 pm BST/9:00 am – 10:15 am EST
10:00 am – 11:15 am BRT/6:30 pm – 7:45 pm IST

Freedom Fund