CLOSE

SIGN UP TO OUR NEWSLETTER

Sign up here to receive our updates on the fight to end modern slavery.

What would you like to receive emails about
(select at least 1 option)

Investing in Freedom: How we place ‘leave no one behind’, economic regeneration and modern slavery at the heart of a post-covid response

February 22, 2021 / Events The Freedom Fund / @freedom_fund

Eradicating modern slavery is a moral imperative. But is there also a powerful economic argument to ending it? This is the central argument of the new UN University Developing Freedom report which asks how fighting modern slavery can contribute to sustainable development. It invites us to consider how maximising people’s economic agency will unlock development gains for victims and the global economy, and calls for wide-ranging development sector engagement with the anti-slavery agenda.

Join us as we bring together leaders in the anti-slavery community and the global development sector to unpick the report’s claim, explore what the development benefits resulting from addressing slavery look like from diverse perspectives and learn what needs to be done to ensure that economic empowerment leads to sustained, continued freedom for survivors.

Watch the recording here.

Speakers:

  • Jennifer Townson – UK Government Migration and Modern Slavery Envoy
  • Sara Pantuliano – Executive Director, Overseas Development Institute
  • Prof. James Cockayne – Senior Fellow at UN University Center for Policy Research
  • Sophie Otiende  Regional Operations Manager, Liberty Shared
  • Sameer Digal – Project Manager, Duncan Hospital
  • Nick Grono – CEO, The Freedom Fund

Moderator:

Maggie Gardner – Managing Director, Development and Partnerships, The Freedom Fund

Monday 22 February 2021
2pm-3:30pm GMT/9am-10.30am EST
7:30pm-9pm IST/5pm-6:30pm EAT

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!